Ninja Kid by Anh Do

Mum took a deep breath and put her arm around me. “We have something to tell you, Nelson,” she said. “We were waiting to see if anything would change today – on your tenth birthday – and it seems it has.”

Nelson Kenny Kane is a nerdy kid who is unfit, uncool and trips over…a lot. On his tenth birthday he discovers he can see perfectly without his glasses and does an amazing double front flip to get out of bed to escape a spider! Nelson’s life is about to change forever when his mum and grandma reveal he is a NINJA. With the help of his food loving cousin, Kenny and his inventor grandma’s crazy gadgets and inventions made from junk, Nelson begins his ninja training and soon learns that strength is not just about a person’s muscles. When the town of Duck Creek is terrorised by a terrifying Tyranno-Spider, it’s Nelson’s quick thinking that saves the day. However at the end of the action-packed day, Kenny is left with a big question…who was the angry man in the helicopter controlling the giant spider and why does he look familiar?

There’s lots of action, laughs, creativity and problem solving in this book. Fans of Weirdo and Hot Dog will definitely enjoy the adventures as Nelson transforms from Nerd to Ninja!

Happy reading!